Fare Trade Fabrics

27 Apr

This week I am going to embark on prototyping the first Baby Beatriz Doll. Tomorrow I will try to go about getting the proper materials to make a head mold and cast a few heads arms and feet in different pigments. Today I went to JoeAnn’s to get Polyfill and the cloth for the doll bodies and clothing. When I worked at Handcocks a few years ago I remember a section of cotton fabric in the store that was made in the USA. I would like to make the Baby Beatriz Dolls in the most socially just and organic way possible even though it will not be entirely possible. I at least would like the fabric portions to be from organic fare trade fabric. Surprise, surprise, there was no fabric of this sort any where to be found at JoeAnn’s but I have found a good site the sells fare trade and organic fabrics created in Africa that I believe at this point I would like to utilize.

http://www.anansevillage.com/

My head mold need ears still and I need to figure out hoe to attach all the parts to each other.

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment